Menu

Faithful Ruslan

Belgrade Theatre, Citizens Theatre Glasgow and KP Productions Ltd present

Faithful Ruslan - The Story of a Guard Dog

A play based on the cult novel by Georgi Vladimov. Translated by Michael Glenny, adapted for the stage and directed by Helena Kaut-Howson.

Saturday 2 to Saturday 16 September 2017

  • Presented at B2 stage
  • Tickets: £12 & £14.50 Concessions: £9 to £12.50

For Sale

Book Tickets

All Ruslan knew was that whatever those beloved eyes wanted to be done, was always done.

1953, Josef Stalin is dead, and the inhabitants of prison camps across Russia are liberated. Ruslan is a beautiful, proud dog, bred solely to serve as a guard in these camps, but when he’s abandoned in a world without the clear structure and organisation he’s always known, how can he possibly adjust?

Telling its story through the eyes of an innocent dog, this powerful new stage adaptation of Georgi Vladimov’s cult novel is like a modern Animal Farm, and is a gripping allegory for the disorientation of post-revolution Russia. It also relates to any situation where unquestioning loyalty to an idea or a cause threatens to plunge our world into chaos.

This stunning new drama will be directed by Helena Kaut-Howson whose adventurous, passionate and imaginative productions, including Uncle Vanya and Sons Without Fathers with the Belgrade, have led to her being named one of the top directors in the UK. Complicite co-founder and one of ‘contemporary theatre’s greatest clowns’ (The Guardian), Marcello Magni, joins the creative team as Movement Director.

“Kaut-Howson’s production pulls you in … a bold lively adaptation”
The Times on Sons Without Fathers

Sat 2 Sep 7:45pm Book Tickets
Mon 4 Sep 7:45pm Book Tickets
Tue 5 Sep 7:00pm Book Tickets
Wed 6 Sep 7:45pm Book Tickets
Thu 7 Sep 7:45pm Book Tickets
Fri 8 Sep 7:45pm Book Tickets
Sat 9 Sep 2:15pm Book Tickets
Sat 9 Sep 7:45pm Book Tickets
Tue 12 Sep 7:45pm Book Tickets
Wed 13 Sep 7:45pm Book Tickets
Thu 14 Sep 2:15pm Audio Described Book Tickets
Thu 14 Sep 7:45pm Captioned Performance Book Tickets
Fri 15 Sep 7:45pm Book Tickets
Sat 16 Sep 2:15pm Book Tickets
Sat 16 Sep 7:45pm Book Tickets
blog comments powered by Disqus